So, before we get started, I’d like to make a note about measurements and types of ingredients.

Unless otherwise specified, common ingredients are as below:

Butter is unsalted. If you only have salted, you can balance the recipe out by cutting down on added salt. But don’t use salted butter in recipes like buttercream where butter is the largest-used ingredient.
Milk is 1%
Eggs are large
Flour can be all-purpose or cake flour. The recipe will state which to use. I use Five Roses brand, and haven’t ever had a problem with it.
Salt is usually regular table or sea salt.
Oil can be canola or other vegetable oil. Don’t use olive oil unless called for.

Also, don’t confuse baking powder and baking soda.

Measurements are in cups and spoons.
Oven uses Fahrenheit.
But I use Celsius for tea temperatures.
Also, my oven and stove are electric. I’m not as familiar with gas marks, but you can follow along well enough with terms like “medium high heat”, “low heat”, etc.

I think that’s all you’d need to keep in mind while reading this blog.

Cheers!

